TER General

View: Tree | Flat

Sure...why not lol. I am more than positive my mouth would give me away though. EOM.

Posted 5/6/2012 at 9:43:01 PM

1 of 30
Newbie673
It's very interesting what skills can hobbying bring abouts. I don't know about you guys but I think I am able to recognize providers and hobbyists in the lobby of the hotels now. I have been hobbying for a year now with a little over a dozen providers experience. In the last two months, I had to do some traveling for work and on two occasions, I could tell ladies checking into the hotels were providers. Both ladies were dressed in casual clothing but I could tell they were providers. Of course, tool hobbyists are easier to spot. They would sit in the lobby, holding their cell phone in hand, keep looking at their phone to wait for the text to go up, and just looked antsy or nervous while sitting there. Shit, I know I did that the first 3-4 times.

Is it my imagination of recognizing providers and hobbyists or I am hobbying too much and think everyone else is in the hobbying game?

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 1:36:55 AM

2 of 30

Posted 5/7/2012 at 2:11:24 AM

3 of 30
serpius
Reviews: 17
Send Mail to serpius
Hey Newbie673,

I think you are overthinking this a bit.

Not all ladies who dress casually are providers in the hotel lobby. I've seen casual dressed ladies who got out of their cars acted like they have driven for hours. Those are the business ladies, not providers. I mean, I wouldn't want to be driving for 8 hours in my best business suit, that doesn't make sense.

Not all guys who are looking at the cell phones every 15 seconds are hobbyists, some are probably waiting for their co-workers to show up because their company had reserved a block of rooms at a certain negotiated rate and they are not able to check in until everyone else arrives. I ought to know... I worked for a company like that. I always arrived early... then I sit in the lobby... waiting... waiting... then finally the rest show up. Yes, I did check my phone a lot.

So, stop making assumptions and don't worry too much about what others may or may not be doing.

Just act relaxed as much as possible and enjoy your session.

Serpius

Quote:
Posted By: Newbie673
It's very interesting what skills can hobbying bring abouts. I don't know about you guys but I think I am able to recognize providers and hobbyists in the lobby of the hotels now. I have been hobbying for a year now with a little over a dozen providers experience. In the last two months, I had to do some traveling for work and on two occasions, I could tell ladies checking into the hotels were providers. Both ladies were dressed in casual clothing but I could tell they were providers. Of course, tool hobbyists are easier to spot. They would sit in the lobby, holding their cell phone in hand, keep looking at their phone to wait for the text to go up, and just looked antsy or nervous while sitting there. Shit, I know I did that the first 3-4 times.

Is it my imagination of recognizing providers and hobbyists or I am hobbying too much and think everyone else is in the hobbying game?


 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 2:12:58 AM

4 of 30

Newbie673, you make some curious assertions below:  

Crackpot Idea #1 : "I could tell ladies checking into the hotels were providers. Both ladies were dressed in casual clothing but I could tell they were providers."

 I usually encounter this type of thinking from religious fanatics & right-wing nuts (these two traits often go together).   What else do you know about these women just by looking at them?   There's a psychological term called 'projection' where a less than rational individual projects their wishes & fantasies onto others.  

Crackpot Idea #2. "Of course, tool hobbyists are easier to spot. . They would sit in the lobby, holding their cell phone in hand, keep looking at their phone to wait for the text to go up, and just looked antsy or nervous while sitting there."

 More projection here.  Since you admit that you're a business traveller, I'm surprised by these assumptions.   There's all kinds of people in this world, including businessmen nervously checking their cell phones before a meeting with a major client or a presentation for their regional manager.  The attractive women in casual clothes that you assume were providers: they might be that businessman's major client or perhaps his regional manager who arrived early at the hotel.

Good Idea #1:  "Is it my imagination of recognizing providers and hobbyists or I am hobbying too much and think everyone else is in the hobbying game?"

Yes, let's go with Good Idea #1.   --z





 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 4:53:49 AM

5 of 30
No, it is NOT your imagination. As you've learned, there are certain "tells" that paid escorts and clients show which are dead giveaways.

Quote:
Posted By: Newbie673
It's very interesting what skills can hobbying bring abouts. I don't know about you guys but I think I am able to recognize providers and hobbyists in the lobby of the hotels now. I have been hobbying for a year now with a little over a dozen providers experience. In the last two months, I had to do some traveling for work and on two occasions, I could tell ladies checking into the hotels were providers. Both ladies were dressed in casual clothing but I could tell they were providers. Of course, tool hobbyists are easier to spot. They would sit in the lobby, holding their cell phone in hand, keep looking at their phone to wait for the text to go up, and just looked antsy or nervous while sitting there. Shit, I know I did that the first 3-4 times.

Is it my imagination of recognizing providers and hobbyists or I am hobbying too much and think everyone else is in the hobbying game?


 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 4:55:11 AM

6 of 30
mrfisher
Reviews: 78
Send Mail to mrfisher
When you are a hammer, every problem looks like a nail.

We tend to project what we are onto others, in other words.



 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 5:10:43 AM

7 of 30
swimtrekr
Reviews: 49
Send Mail to swimtrekr
Just because a woman is in casual clothes i a hotel lobby does not make her a provider.  What was it about them that told you they were providers other than they are single women checking into a hotel?  I'm in Florida and most people checking into a hotel will be dressed casually.

As far as the men go, a competent hobbyist will not be hanging around the lobby watching his cell phone.  That is the last place he should be contacting his date for the room number.  If he is smart, he will know the number before entering the hotel and just go straight to the elevator and not hang around the lobby.  You call shortly before arriving to get the room number, not when you are in the lobby.

Lastly, why are you hanging around the lobby if you are there for a date?  You should just come in, go to the elevator, and act like you belong there.  Hanging around the lobby is never a good idea.

Swim


 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 5:13:00 AM

8 of 30
So, at check in, there are a few tell tale signs of girls providing. A) Sunglasses B) Multiple bags... almost TOO MANY bags, esp for one night! hehe... C) Stilettos or fishnets kind of gives it away, and I would NEVER check into a hotel like this, but I know SOME girls who DO! How silly... I told her she was drawing attention to herself and she didn't understand..... The key is modesty. Don't look like a slut and they won't think you're a slut ;)

After check in if you see the female in the lobby in different outfits, meeting people, etc. it is hard not to notice. As far as the guys go, I think they're pretty good at blending in.

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 5:26:51 AM

9 of 30
I disagree. The "tells" are pretty obvious and most clients and paid escorts try so hard to look casual and normal that they end up looking anything but.

Some of the things that you warn clients not to do are just some of the "tells" that make it EASY to pick up clients.

And yes, if it's easy for US to tell, then I assure you that it's even easier for LE and Vice to pick out as well.

Quote:
Posted By: swimtrekr
Just because a woman is in casual clothes i a hotel lobby does not make her a provider.  What was it about them that told you they were providers other than they are single women checking into a hotel?  I'm in Florida and most people checking into a hotel will be dressed casually.

As far as the men go, a competent hobbyist will not be hanging around the lobby watching his cell phone.  That is the last place he should be contacting his date for the room number.  If he is smart, he will know the number before entering the hotel and just go straight to the elevator and not hang around the lobby.  You call shortly before arriving to get the room number, not when you are in the lobby.

Lastly, why are you hanging around the lobby if you are there for a date?  You should just come in, go to the elevator, and act like you belong there.  Hanging around the lobby is never a good idea.

Swim


 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 6:12:54 AM

10 of 30
And all Muslims are terrorists. All people of color are thugs. All skinny girls are drug addicts. And every kid on a street corner at night is up to no good.

Your Profiling. Your taking your limited exposure and experience and placing everyone in your box.

I travel a lot on personal non companion business. When you see me checking into a hotel you have no idea why I am there. I could be in casual clothes, a business suit or whatever. Am I there on business, pleasure, companionship, or a combination of all? Better yet am I there on business but really looking forward to finding a good one-nighter at the hotel bar after work to scratch an itch?

If you can get all of those correct even 75% of the time, I want you as my stock broker.

 

Related Link: Just me

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 6:47:16 AM

11 of 30
TheHoundOfCullin
Reviews: 9
Send Mail to TheHoundOfCullin
Swim is right. You see yourself in the guys waiting in the lobby. I don't even want to wait in the lot. But if the hotel doesn't have a coffee shop nearby, it is the lesser of two evils. This is why it is so important to me that my provider is on time. Or lets me know of a time change before I get there. I like to walk in with a group if I can as well. They usually walk right to the elevator.

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 6:56:16 AM

12 of 30
harborview
Reviews: 10
Send Mail to harborview
I understand in some urban areas where people don't drive private cars much, there's more tendancy to hang in the lobby.  It would be better to find a coffee shop or such nearby to wile away the time.  
In the suburban setting, I try hard to arrive early & then withdraw...  to the coffee shop on the corner, noting how long my return will take.  I often call from the coffee parking...  I don't care if they see me on the phone...  2 minutes later I'm with her.  
If I must call from the car, I'll prefer to pull over to the side of the road "to take a phone call" before arriving at the hotel.  (NO TEXTING & DRIVING!)    

Spotting a provider is more difficult than it might seem.  She's probably more conservatively dressed!   Sit out side any convenience store...  drinking your coffee & candy bar...  and you'll notice a lot of attractive women.  I gotta love today's fashon over when I was that age...  
HV

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 7:17:04 AM

13 of 30
Bostonguy57
Reviews: 48
Send Mail to Bostonguy57
"In the last two months, I had to do some traveling for work and on two occasions, I could tell ladies checking into the hotels were providers. Both ladies were dressed in casual clothing but I could tell they were providers."

Bold statement but you don't say a word about HOW you know that they are providers.

I travel a lot for work.  I fully admit to being curious every time I see a beautiful woman alone in the airport or at a hotel but, unless I recognize their pictures from an ad or have seen them before, I know that there is no way for me to be sure.  Guess what, there is no way for you to be sure either.

Be careful, before you know it you will be posting as one of those guys who wonders if it's OK to approach women you don't know and ask them if they provide...

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 7:36:26 AM

14 of 30
Most escorts have the common sense to not look like one, but I did say "most." I have read reviews where the girl was and I quote, "Dressed in a low cut shirt that showed of her great cleavage, and fk me heels as she walked through the airport. Every eye was on her." WOW, did you feel special dude? They were not staring because she was hot, but because she looked like a damn streetwalker! The only thing going through guys' minds was, "Yep, he is paying for it!"

When you draw attention to yourself, you draw it towards you clients as well. I don't much care what a guy wants me to wear, I am not doing it in public. I have a certain gear I wear to the airport and around the hotel, and it suggests a certain profession I might be in. You would never know I was a hooker or anything else for that matter...well ok, til I opened my big mouth lol.

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 8:00:01 AM

15 of 30
hiddenhills
Reviews: 121
Send Mail to hiddenhills
Unfortunately most of it's for business, and not enough for hobbying,  and I'm always on the phone in the lobby since Im in sales, and thank god  the phone is constantly ringning. Sometimes I'm wearing a suit, sometimes casually dressed. OP, since you're so good at picking out hobbyists and providers, can you help me out with some clothing disguises for my next trip, so I don't look like a hobbyists. Thanks in advance

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 8:07:56 AM

16 of 30
STPhomer
Reviews: 164
Send Mail to STPhomer
Cultural norms do make a differnce. In DC a Provider meeting a client in a hotel lobby or lounge should dress fairly consevatively.  However , I've met ladies in the hotel bar at my hotel on Sunset Blvd in Hollywood who arrived wearing low cut short dresses , F me heels and sans underwear....and THEY were less noticable as the civi babes hanging out in the bar...lol.  Use to be the same in Scottsdale.  As far as drawing attention to myself...I could care less what others think.  I kinda get a kick out of it. Hell , you should have seen it when Dodda Venette met me at my hotel bar in Chicago. I think the bar babe was even drooling.  I tip well. Everybody is happy

As for the gents, yes....sadly many hobbyist have no idea how obvious they can be waiting in a hote lobby.  As for me , I have the gift of invisibility so it is never a prob.....  but I can always pick out the idiot waiting for his " come on up" text.

London.....you and I really need to meet one of these days.  Not only can I become invisible I also have the ability of turning off my hearing while appearing to be paying apt attention to the conversation.  You could babble on for hours thinking I was a great guy who actually cares... . Again....everybody is happy !

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 8:11:56 AM

17 of 30
That's why I said it is easier to spot a skank than a hooker. They are everywhere. Most hookers know they have to tone it down a bit. Someone in nurse gear with a legit ID badge, is not going to attract the stigma of being a hooker unless the dummy forgot to wipe off her "d*ck face" from the previous client.

Oh, and I have no problem if yoy can't recite back to me all the drivel I speak during a date...you pay me to stfu lol. :)

-- Modified on 5/7/2012 4:14:06 AM

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 9:49:44 AM

18 of 30

Posted 5/7/2012 at 11:52:41 AM

19 of 30
Duplicitouslust
Reviews: 19
Send Mail to Duplicitouslust
Dear MSHSEX:
If you had to interview a vice cop with respect to this subject, what are the types of questions you would have with respect to observation and identification of participants in the hobby? What are the types of situations or observations that would give them suspicion and what could they identify as being certain that they were participants of the hobby?

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 12:25:45 PM

20 of 30

Posted 5/7/2012 at 1:01:31 PM

21 of 30
Duplicitouslust
Reviews: 19
Send Mail to Duplicitouslust
Dear London:
I was wondering if you would be interested in doing a PSA for radio since you wouldn't have to show your face for hookers. I can see you saying it is not what you do it is how you do it. While you saying it you are dressed as a white collar professional going to a business meeting walking through a hall of a business building or a venue of academia.

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 1:40:06 PM

22 of 30
Duplicitouslust
Reviews: 19
Send Mail to Duplicitouslust
Dear London:
Can we change your voice like they would people that would be wanted by others like they would on 20/20?

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 3:54:29 PM

23 of 30
I don't understand your post. Are you asking me what questions I would ask a Vice cop about identifying paid escorts and clients? Or are you asking me what I think Vice cops pick up on to identify paid escorts and clients?

For the first question, if I had to interview a Vice cop on ID'ing paid escorts and clients, I would ask him if they create a profile for both groups.

For the second question, I can only speculate because I'm not a Vice cop. Some good things that clients should NOT do have already been mentioned in this thread. I'd say the most important thing is to NOT try so hard to look natural. You only end up looking unnatural.

Quote:
Posted By: Duplicitouslust
Dear MSHSEX:
If you had to interview a vice cop with respect to this subject, what are the types of questions you would have with respect to observation and identification of participants in the hobby? What are the types of situations or observations that would give them suspicion and what could they identify as being certain that they were participants of the hobby?


 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 3:55:29 PM

24 of 30
On another topic, why did you delete you post about NY's finest catching the Long Island escort killer?

Quote:
Posted By: TheHoundOfCullin
Swim is right. You see yourself in the guys waiting in the lobby. I don't even want to wait in the lot. But if the hotel doesn't have a coffee shop nearby, it is the lesser of two evils. This is why it is so important to me that my provider is on time. Or lets me know of a time change before I get there. I like to walk in with a group if I can as well. They usually walk right to the elevator.


 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 3:59:01 PM

25 of 30
It's pretty obvious that you're not calling a paid escort in a hotel lobby by the way you obnoxiously talk really loud so that everyone in the lobby can hear what a bigshot you think you are. ha.

Quote:
Posted By: hiddenhills
Unfortunately most of it's for business, and not enough for hobbying,  and I'm always on the phone in the lobby since Im in sales, and thank god  the phone is constantly ringning. Sometimes I'm wearing a suit, sometimes casually dressed. OP, since you're so good at picking out hobbyists and providers, can you help me out with some clothing disguises for my next trip, so I don't look like a hobbyists. Thanks in advance


 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 5:14:51 PM

26 of 30

One additional point here:  note how Newbie673 refers to other men in the hotel lobby as 'tool hobbyists'.   Translation:  With the single exception of Newbie673, a provider's client = tool.  People often betray themselves with an impulsive post.   The ego & presumption on display here is consistent with the worldview of a narcissist.  --z

Quote:
Posted By: Newbie673
It's very interesting what skills can hobbying bring abouts. I don't know about you guys but I think I am able to recognize providers and hobbyists in the lobby of the hotels now. I have been hobbying for a year now with a little over a dozen providers experience. In the last two months, I had to do some traveling for work and on two occasions, I could tell ladies checking into the hotels were providers. Both ladies were dressed in casual clothing but I could tell they were providers. Of course, tool hobbyists are easier to spot. They would sit in the lobby, holding their cell phone in hand, keep looking at their phone to wait for the text to go up, and just looked antsy or nervous while sitting there. Shit, I know I did that the first 3-4 times.

Is it my imagination of recognizing providers and hobbyists or I am hobbying too much and think everyone else is in the hobbying game?


 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 5:24:13 PM

27 of 30
When I discreetly check in to my hotel I'm usually wearing five inch heels, my Daisy Dukes and a tank top that reads "Let go of my ears I know what I'm doing." Oh and I am carrying a large shopping bag from Condoms-R-Us. I guess the request for fifty extra guest towels gave me away.


 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 6:20:44 PM

28 of 30
Big-Bad-John
I'll just tether you to my quad while you spot him for me.

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 7:02:27 PM

29 of 30
They make that call for the room number from the damn car, and walk right in like they know where they are going. The ones waiting around for a text are new...like the OP.

 

Posted 5/7/2012 at 7:03:18 PM

30 of 30