Minnesota

View: Tree | Flat

Re: That would be cheaper then getting BLG drunk..

Posted 5/12/2012 at 4:00:00 PM

1 of 42
ThreeCupsPlease
I agree with your concerns.  I have recently been the target of the confused ramblings of someone whose anger and confusion may have been natural, or the result of some emotional distress or even drug induced.  There's really no way to be sure.

One thing is certain.  It is unpleasant and detracts from the benefits of free discussion in this forum.

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 4:41:33 AM

2 of 42
LuckyLuver
Reviews: 40
Send Mail to LuckyLuver
This board back a few years use to be very enjoyable. No one got attacked when they were seeking advice, or asking for help from the community. Now, if you post anything, certain people will attack you. You would think TER would do something about it. I've talked to quite a few providers and hobbiests, and they won't even come on here anymore because they get harassed for posting. Its getting so its not very enjoyable to read this board. Any thoughts??

Now that I've brought that up,
Happy Mothers Day to all the providers with children. I hope you have a wonderful day!!!

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 5:16:51 AM

3 of 42
Makwa
Reviews: 14
Send Mail to Makwa
I don't know why.  But fewer post, and less helpful information being given.  
I wish I knew if people are leaving because of this board, or have they found a better outlet for exchange of information.

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 6:39:52 AM

4 of 42
rubbernickel
want more examples?

Quote:
Posted By: Mngopher
This board back a few years use to be very enjoyable. No one got attacked when they were seeking advice, or asking for help from the community. Now, if you post anything, certain people will attack you. You would think TER would do something about it. I've talked to quite a few providers and hobbiests, and they won't even come on here anymore because they get harassed for posting. Its getting so its not very enjoyable to read this board. Any thoughts??

Now that I've brought that up,
Happy Mothers Day to all the providers with children. I hope you have a wonderful day!!!


 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 6:45:14 AM

5 of 42
LRob65
Reviews: 11
Send Mail to LRob65
I agree with you and feel as though the negativity has been escalating gradually over the past couple of years.  I believe it is has become a favored sport of the trolls to attack from their alias.  Wouldn't surprise me a bit either to learn there's been an increase in men choosing to live out their lives in mom's basement.  Cheetos sales are probably higher as well.  

If they only realized they are so much cooler online:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fm7u25wRiV8

The reason I am in favor of the elimination of aliases is because it would change the culture.  I think the use of the alias provides the trolls with the ability to be indiscriminately cruel to others.  If one only has one identity, perhaps they will be more mindful of what they contribute.  

if we all had just one handle or reputation, we would have to think about what we say and whom we say it to.  Kind of like having a permanent record.  Civility would likely be more popular.

I really have to believe that the vast majority of the TER users would agree that it is sick when a troll attacks a provider who's family is being threatened by a stalker.  I doubt I am being a Pollyanna here.

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 7:14:04 AM

6 of 42
LuckyIrishPrick
Reviews: 6
Send Mail to LuckyIrishPrick
I've been here 9 years under one handle or another, and do not remember a time when "No one got attacked when they were seeking advice." There has always been trolls, always been drama, always been aliases, always been threads complaining about all of the above. The difference is people used to have thicker skin.

What do you mean by "attacked"? It's not as if someone is jumping out from behind the bushes and hitting folks in the knee with a pipe wrench. It's just words on a screen.

Once upon a time if someone got out of pocket, the other person didn't play the victim, or disappear, they fired back, ESPECIALLY the providers, or ignored them all together...and that was that. Some people take this shit WAY too seriously.

The only thing that I think is really missing around here, are the mini's. There used to be a handful of bold TOFTT players that regularly posted 411 on the latest and greatest...or not so great...that - the most useful part of this board - is gone now. Now it's "Anybody seen hooker X?" followed by "Hey dumbshit, check Google/tine-eye/three threads down/old reviews/ we know nothing, go see hooker Z instead."

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 8:06:07 AM

7 of 42
patrico
Reviews: 15
Send Mail to patrico
You do have a valid point though.  Lately, this isn't a very friendly place.  Its probably a sign of the times.  The technology is desensitizing our interpersonal communication skills.  I have lurked around here for 9 years (didn't always post reviews) and I recall being able to come here and find good information for my searching and the providers were more involved in fun posts.  Now many providers just come here to bitch about their recent bad review, problems in their personal lives, or try to justify a blatant NCNS.  If all that this place is going to be is a rip fest and a provider bitch fest many of us may stop using the board.  I know I am getting tired of it.  This board is what we make it if a few start being nice and helpful while ignoring the worthless posts maybe the culture can slowly change.

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 8:39:53 AM

8 of 42
LuckyLuver
Reviews: 40
Send Mail to LuckyLuver
include the whole thread, not just my post, so it may be read in context, not thrown out to make blanket statements against me. And I apologized to that person if you look at the whole thread.

I had a feeling this post would attract some trolls.

And why hide behind an alias rubbernickel? I don't hide because I'm not afraid.

MNG

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 9:32:08 AM

9 of 42
rubbernickel
you have made a few apologies for the negative  things you have said here.
maybe you are not the solution.

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 9:34:40 AM

10 of 42
vorlon
Reviews: 106
Send Mail to vorlon
Sometimes it is more civil and sometimes less so.  Just to put things in perspective, this is far from the worst this board has been in my time on it.  In my opinion, the best way to deal with the trolls is not to stop posting but to continue to do so and to respond to their posts (when appropriate) by pointing out what they are doing in a calm fashion; not by getting angry as that just gives them what they want.

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 9:40:19 AM

11 of 42
LuckyLuver
Reviews: 40
Send Mail to LuckyLuver
Someone brought up a very good point to me a few days ago, maybe we should start reporting  the troll posts that attack someone to TER and they might get the hint. Swamp them with reports!! Sounds like a good idea to me, what do the rest of you think?

Lucky, Your posts are always either very funny or informative or funny and informative at the same time. Keep on posting brother! I wish I had at least some of your wit.

LRob, Brad Paisley is the best, I love that song. His concerts are great!! Attacking a provider who's family is also being attacked by the stalker is uncalled for. So then you step up to defend her and you get attacked by the trolls. Hopefully things will change on the board. Thanks for your input. Very well stated.

Patrico, I know you're kidding... I only try and attack the attacker, give them some of their own medicine, so to speak. Sometimes I may get out of line, but when I do, I will apologize. Thanks for your input too. And I agree with everything you said.

Keep posting, the more info the better!!

MNG

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 10:17:08 AM

12 of 42
oldguy666
Reviews: 52
Send Mail to oldguy666
I've been on these boards less than a year, so I can't compare the earlier culture.  The tone on the boards comes and goes, I'd say.  Lately, it's been too many 411's (often by people too lazy to do their homework), hobbyists and providers complaining about NCNS's and other issues, and too few fun posts like "What's your favorite place to have sex," etc.  

So, in addition to trying to keep the trolls in their place, I propose the non-trolls begin stepping up with more creative postings that others can add their .02 to.

That's my .02 for now!  :)

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 10:30:24 AM

13 of 42
helper_helping
just like in real life,    one third of the people like you; one third dislike you and the other third could care less what you do......  

Take it for what's it worth.    

IDK> If we all were like vorlon, this would be a useful and happy place but in reality it is what it is......let the trolls be what they are and leave them alone.....



 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 10:48:49 AM

14 of 42
I love your handle, by the way! So cute....I used to call my kids "big helpers always helping"!!! So you hold a special place in my heart! haha! Ok Im soooo sappy! :)

But yes! 3 cheers to Vorlon! For always bringing us all BACK TO CENTER!!
     WOOT WOOT!!!

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 6:11:21 PM

15 of 42
Nago8
Reviews: 3
Send Mail to Nago8
What fucking planet do you live on?
Actually,  this board is so freaking boring now I only come here once or twice a week.  
There are 3 categories of posts here:
Providers posting promotional pictures of themselves and then the big group provider hug about how wonderful and sexy they look.  
Dudes asking moronic questions about fake Backpage adds.
Guys getting stood up by providers.  The good old NCNS bitch session.  

God I miss Bendover.


 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 8:10:11 PM

16 of 42
newbieguy42
Reviews: 26
Send Mail to newbieguy42
I'm sure people already do report what they view to be "troll" posts.  And TER doesn't do anything about them because who are any of us to say what a troll post even is?  I don't know about you, but organizing a grass roots effort to flood TER with reports??  Please. LuckyIrishPrick has it right, we all need thicker skin for crying out loud.  Personally, I tire much, MUCH more of these posts that complain about troll posts and people using aliases than anything else that is posted here- and it's not even close.

And speaking of aliases...this is hardly an original thought by me - but people need to get over it.  Until you change your handle to your real name, then as far as I'm concerned you're using an alias just as much as the person that actually uses an alias.  Seriously...if someone "attacks" you using their "screen name" instead of their "alias" how would that help? You're still getting "attacked" and you still really can't do anything about it.

Thick skin, thick skin, thick skin.  So brilliant in its' simplicity...

 

Posted 5/13/2012 at 9:04:47 PM

17 of 42
LuckyIrishPrick
Reviews: 6
Send Mail to LuckyIrishPrick
best...mod...ever...

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 6:29:11 AM

18 of 42
ThreeCupsPlease
I have found the current handwringing campaign of "MnGopher" (not his real name) about the lack of civility on the meaasge boards, to be amusing.  His most recent cry for help apparently began with several clumsy attempts to "help" Hillary by scolding several people who did not agree with her postings.  He didn't "help" Hillary with his tirades about other posts.  Instead, he demonstrated his belief that dumping on someone is OK, if that person disagrees with you.  

In other words, if YOU criticize MnGopher or Hillary, YOU are a troll and should be complained about to TER and the object of a mass uprising of the "good" people.  On the other hand, if MnGopher or Hillary criticize YOU, that is OK because YOU are a troll, posting under an alias, and undeserving of an opinion.  In addition, YOU should be reported to TER, and removed.

MnGopher is like an arsonist crying "fire" in a crowded theater.



 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 7:47:23 AM

19 of 42
patrico
Reviews: 15
Send Mail to patrico
Threecups makes a valid point.  In recent weeks in particular and I have been aware of it for well over a year.  Anyone who says anything negative about Hilary regardless of whether their point is valid or not, is immediately attacked by her posse of defenders.  It has gotten out of hand.  I suspect that fact alone has pushed many away from the board. If people want to make the board better the posters saying thicken your skins up have an excellent point.  Certain groups aren't very tolerant of opinions differing from their own.  

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 9:36:24 AM

20 of 42
Vorlon is correct. The board does go in cycles.

The thread prompted me to read up on some old threads yesterday and while there isn't a real pattern the board does have its mood swings. You van find threads just like this going back a few years.  

There are more complainers and whiners these days especially those who whine about aliases. The board will not seem so divisive if some of the complaining ceases.    

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 9:52:57 AM

21 of 42
oleoneeye
Reviews: 152
Send Mail to oleoneeye
Anytime someone posts anything at all remotely controversial, or heaven forbid a negative something about a provider, you are going to invite a debate of sorts and sometimes it can get carried away. I tend to view the board as a roudy bar in Las Vegas where you can do and say what you want and if you get in someone's face a bit too much a brawl might ensue, at least verbally.  You throw a bunch of horny guys and some whores together and its not gonna be like Sunday morning at church. There are rules and they seem to be working ok.

Quote:
Posted By: newbieguy42
I'm sure people already do report what they view to be "troll" posts.  And TER doesn't do anything about them because who are any of us to say what a troll post even is?  I don't know about you, but organizing a grass roots effort to flood TER with reports??  Please. LuckyIrishPrick has it right, we all need thicker skin for crying out loud.  Personally, I tire much, MUCH more of these posts that complain about troll posts and people using aliases than anything else that is posted here- and it's not even close.

And speaking of aliases...this is hardly an original thought by me - but people need to get over it.  Until you change your handle to your real name, then as far as I'm concerned you're using an alias just as much as the person that actually uses an alias.  Seriously...if someone "attacks" you using their "screen name" instead of their "alias" how would that help? You're still getting "attacked" and you still really can't do anything about it.

Thick skin, thick skin, thick skin.  So brilliant in its' simplicity...


 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 10:10:10 AM

22 of 42
oleoneeye
Reviews: 152
Send Mail to oleoneeye
I was gonna bitch about this topic but then I read your post. I do kinda miss having a bouncer in the bar at times.

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 11:31:44 AM

23 of 42
Especially if the bouncer is buying :)

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 2:46:34 PM

24 of 42
Biglittleguy
Reviews: 13
Send Mail to Biglittleguy
If you're buying Apollo, I'll have a Macallan 25 neat, hell make it a double!



 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 2:51:16 PM

25 of 42
ThreeCupsPlease
Is it really safe to call a spade a spade in this forum?

If so, let's go to the next step. With all of the nitpicking about etiquette and whose feelings might be hurt, we forget something that is potenially important.  The particpants in this forum also (mostly) engage in a criminal activity on a regular basis and the act of meeting to discuss how best to perform that activity might be considered to be engaging in a criminal conspiracy.

Don't think so?  What if you are wrong?

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 3:39:18 PM

26 of 42
DickCurious
Thankfully, all that we write here is fiction.

Quote:
Posted By: ThreeCupsPlease
Is it really safe to call a spade a spade in this forum?

If so, let's go to the next step. With all of the nitpicking about etiquette and whose feelings might be hurt, we forget something that is potenially important.  The particpants in this forum also (mostly) engage in a criminal activity on a regular basis and the act of meeting to discuss how best to perform that activity might be considered to be engaging in a criminal conspiracy.

Don't think so?  What if you are wrong?


 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 4:00:00 PM

27 of 42
rubbernickel
of your behavior have been removed by the moderators.

Related Link: Remember this

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 4:00:00 PM

28 of 42
vorlon
Reviews: 106
Send Mail to vorlon
Actually, because your handle is an alias, it makes me wonder why people so often feel the need to not use it  and use a different alias.  There are legitimate reasons to be sure but I am often suspicious when they are used as often aliases are used to launch attacks on others.

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 4:00:00 PM

29 of 42

Posted 5/14/2012 at 4:55:53 PM

30 of 42
You had better have a provider waiting for me too, lol.

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 5:36:03 PM

31 of 42
If we would all agree to beer then maybe I could have a provider dancing on our table, but I get first dibbs on her ;)

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 5:44:27 PM

32 of 42
Biglittleguy
Reviews: 13
Send Mail to Biglittleguy
LOL I seldom travel alone and I always drink top shelf.  I'll buy the next round, two or three.

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 6:47:30 PM

33 of 42
vorlon
Reviews: 106
Send Mail to vorlon
 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 7:44:57 PM

34 of 42
ThreeCupsPlease
If the issue ever comes up, I hope you will have a better defense than the "fiction" argument.

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 7:47:06 PM

35 of 42
ThreeCupsPlease
I hope you never have to face that question, but, if you do, I sincerely hope you will have a better defense than the "fiction" argument.  It's simply not convincing.

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 9:29:02 PM

36 of 42
DickCurious
See item # 15:

http://www.theeroticreview.com/reviews/submitReview.asp

Quote:
Posted By: ThreeCupsPlease
I hope you never have to face that question, but, if you do, I sincerely hope you will have a better defense than the "fiction" argument.  It's simply not convincing.


Related Link: See item 15

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 9:55:21 PM

37 of 42

Posted 5/14/2012 at 9:59:01 PM

38 of 42
ThreeCupsPlease
It might be a bad idea to assume that the TER guidlines for submitting reviews would be considered as authority in a Minnesota court.

But, do what you want.

 

Posted 5/14/2012 at 11:10:06 PM

39 of 42
SomewhereOverTheRainbow
You know I am not a Virgin Mary and like it.:)

I just ignore posts that I am not interested in reading. Have a good night everyone.

 

Posted 5/15/2012 at 11:11:26 AM

40 of 42

Posted 5/15/2012 at 1:08:13 PM

41 of 42
ThreeCupsPlease
I appreciate a woman who shares my interests. I might judge you for being a slut, but certainly not in a bad way!  

 

Posted 5/24/2012 at 12:03:17 PM

42 of 42
creativefunguy
Reviews: 37
Send Mail to creativefunguy
no doubt so much anger and negativity!! relax a little huh?

good post dude